Dr. Lakshmi Yatham has been voted President-Elect of the World Federation of Societies of Biological Psychiatry.

Dr. Judy Illes has been elected Vice Chair of the CIHR Standing Committee on Ethics.

MSFHR Scholar & Trainee Awards

We’re proud of the DMCBH members and students who received 2017 Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research awards.

2017 Scholar Award recipients

The MSFHR Scholar Program is designed to support early career researchers as they establish independent research careers, form their own research teams and develop research programs that advance cutting-edge health solutions.

  • Dr. Kota Mizumoto: Genetic Dissection Of Neuronal Pattern Formation
  • Dr. Rebecca Todd: The Role Of The Norepinephrine System In Emotionally-Biased Attention And Learning
  • Dr. Carles Vilarino-Guell: Genetic Etiology Of Progressive Multiple Sclerosis
  • Dr. Fidel Vila-Rodriguez: Precise Prescription Of RTMS For Treatment Resistant Depression

2017 Trainee Award recipients

The MSFHR Research Trainee Program supports health researchers in the training phase of their research career to enable career development and the long-term sucess of the BC health research landscape.

  • Rachel Bartlett (PI: Dr. Neil Cashman): Development, Validation And Functional Testing Of Novel Antibody Therapeutics For Parkinson’s Disease
  • Jérôme Robert (PI: Dr. Cheryl Wellington): Tissue Engineered Human Cerebral Blood Vessels: A Platform For Lipoprotein Studies On Cerebrovasculature Health

Neurofutures 2017

Did you miss the 2017 NeuroFutures Conference? Check out #NeuroFutures on Twitter, and view the highlights on the Snyder Lab website. To watch (or re-watch) the talks, including Dr. Gary Marcus’ highly anticipated keynote, visit Dr. Tim Murphy‘s NeuroFutures playlist on YouTube.

Twitter highlights


Did we miss something? Do you have a story tip? We want to hear from you! Send your research highlights, upcoming publications, trainee successes, and funding and awards news to