Pictured: Dr. Haakon Nygaard shows Charles Fipke the new GE Healthcare SIGNA™
hybrid PET-MRI scanner housed in the Charles E. Fipke Integtrated Neuroimaging Suite at a ribbon-cutting event on April 8, 2019. The GE SIGNA™ is the first scanner of its kind in Canada.


  • Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose received a Catalyst Grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research for her project, The Impact of Increased Activity, Reduced Sitting, and Good Sleep Quality on Cognition: An Exploration of for Whom and How. The project will study the impact of increased activity, reduced sitting, and good quality sleep on cognition, and is part of the Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging.
  • Dr. Julie Robillard receives leadership award from ALS Society of BC.
  • The NanoMedicines Innovation Network (PI: Dr. Pieter Cullis) has been awarded $18.5 million in new funding from the Networks of Centres of Excellence, a federal program that connects teams of scientists across Canada to collaborate on research with significant health, environmental and societal impacts. This funding is matched by more than $22 million from industry and other not-for-profit agencies.
  • Dr. Ruth Grunau received the Outstanding Pain Mentorship Award at the Canadian Pain Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting this week. The award recognizes her outstanding mentorship of young researchers studying pain.
  • Dr. Andrei Krassioukov has been appointed President of the American Spinal Cord Injury Association. 
  • Dr. Julia Schmidt (PIs Dr. Lara Boyd and Dr. Naznin Virji-Babul) has joined the Department of Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy as Assistant Professor.
  • Cristina Rubino (PI: Dr. Lara Boyd) received a Research Tools and Equipment Grant from the The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.
  • Dr. Stefan Wendt (PI: Dr. Brian MacVicar) received funds from the Pacific Alzheimer Research Foundation for his project, Contribution of Microglia activation and neuronal oxidative stress to Alzheimer’s disease. Dr. Haakon Nygaard is a co-PI on this project, which will look at how microglia cause oxidative stress, a phenomenon that causes an overproduction of reactive oxygen radicals, and whether microglia generate oxygen radicals (and their role in nerve cell damage).
  • Daphne Ling (PI: Dr. Adele Diamond) was awarded a travel grant to present her research at the 20th IBRO World Congress in South Korea.
  • Joyce Lam (PI: Dr. Doris Doudet) received the Edward JC Hossie Leadership Award. Only three students each year receive the award; the award recognizes students who have demonstrated leadership through volunteerism, community services and campus activities.
  • Dr. Maria Arredondo and Dr. Drew Weatherhead (PI: Dr. Janet Werker) received new equipment from the Artinis Win-A-Brite Contest for their pilot study proposal, What’s in a word? Imaging the birth of a word using fNIRS.
  • Brandon Forys (PIs: Dr. Kiran Soma and Dr. Rebecca Todd) wins prestigious UBC undergraduate awards.
  • Carolyn English (PI: Dr. Vesna Sossi) was inducted into UBC’s 25 Year Club, an initiative that honours staff members with 25 or more years of service at UBC. Carolyn is the Head Nuclear Medicine Technologist with the UBC PET-MRI Imaging Centre at the Charles E. Fipke Integrated Neuroimaging Suite.

Twitter highlights



Did we miss something? Do you have a story tip? We want to hear from you! Send your research highlights, upcoming publications, trainee successes, and funding and awards news to emily.wight@brain.ubc.ca.