Pictured: Dr. Erin Michalak. Image credit: Paul Joseph/UBC.


World Health Organization

Research from Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose and colleagues has informed the new WHO guidelines for risk reduction of cognitive decline and dementia. Read the guidelines at who.int.

Related: WHO issues first advice on dementia: exercise and don’t smoke (REUTERS).

CIHR Gold Leaf Award

CREST.BD Network and Dr. Erin Michalak Recognized by CIHR for Transformation in Patient Engagement.

Related: Erin Michalak and CREST.BD awarded CIHR Gold Leaf Prize (CREST.BD).

CIHR New Frontiers in Research

Designed by the Canada Research Coordinating Committee (CRCC), the New Frontiers in Research Fund includes an investment of $275 million over five years, and $65 million ongoing, to support international, interdisciplinary, fast-breaking and high-risk research. Read more at research.ubc.ca.

  • Dr. Mark Cembrowski: Generation and application of novel molecular biosensor in fear memory
  • Dr. Julie Robillard: SOcial Co-creation of Robotic Aging TEchnologieS (SOCRATES)

NSERC Discovery Grants

The NSERC Discovery Grants Program supports ongoing programs of research with long-term goals rather than a single short-term project or collection of projects. Twelve members of the Djavad Mowafaghian Centre for Brain Health at the University of British Columbia received Discovery Grant funding in the most recent competition.

  • Dr. Lara Boyd: Controllable Transcranial Magnetic Stimulator for Mapping Cortical Circuitry
  • Dr. Brian Christie: Bidirectional Structural and Functional Plasticity in the Aging Brain.
  • Dr. Kalina Christoff: Dynamic brain network interactions underlying human thought and spontaneous cognition
  • Dr. Adele Diamond: Improving Executive Functions
  • Dr. James Enns: Visual Perception and Attention
  • Dr. Liisa Galea: Hormones and Learning and Memory
  • Dr. Stan Floresco: Prefrontal-subcortical circuitry underlying cognitive flexibility
  • Dr. Shannon Kolind: Creation of an atlas to study the role of myelin in normal brain function
  • Dr. Joanne Matsubara: Regulation of inflammasome activity by a classic anti-apoptotic protein, XIAP
  • Dr. Miriam Spering: Human eye movements as a model of visual prediction
  • Dr. Wolfram Tetzlaff: Circuit-level control of forelimb motor behaviour and plasticity following injury
  • Dr. Cheryl Wellington: Brain Vascular Tissue Engineering

MSFHR Implementation Science Team Project Grant recipients

CIHR Vanier Scholarship recipients

  • Wissam Nassrallah (PI: Dr. Lynn Raymond): Neuroprotective Effect of Sigma-1 Receptor and Activin A on Synaptic Function and Calcium Handling in Huntington’s Disease

Graduation 2019

Twitter highlights



Did we miss something? Do you have a story tip? We want to hear from you! Send your research highlights, upcoming publications, trainee successes, and funding and awards news to emily.wight@brain.ubc.ca.