Each year, UBC’s Faculty of Medicine recognizes faculty and staff members for excellence in teaching, research, administration, innovation and public service. Congratulations to the DMCBH members who received Faculty of Medicine Awards for 2023.

Clinical Faculty Award for Excellence in Research

Recognizes excellence in research by clinical faculty members.

Mypinder Sekhon 

Dr. Mypinder Sekhon is an intensivist and clinician-scientist in the intensive care unit at Vancouver General Hospital. He is also a clinical assistant professor in the Division of Critical Care Medicine and Department of Medicine at UBC. His clinical and research interests include multimodal neuromonitoring, cerebral autoregulation disturbance after brain injury and critical care management of severe acute brain injury patients.

Shelina Babul

Dr. Shelina Babul is the Associate Director and Sports Injury Specialist with the BC Injury Research and Prevention Unit, BC Children’s Hospital. She focuses primarily on sport and recreational evidence-based research and knowledge implementation, with a particular specialization in concussions/traumatic brain injuries and their prevention, recognition, treatment, and management. She is also the Director of BC Children’s Hospital Canadian Hospitals Injury Reporting and Prevention Program, a Clinical Professor in UBC’s Department of Pediatrics and an Investigator with the BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute.


Killam Teaching Prize

Awarded to faculty nominated by students, colleagues, and alumni in recognition of excellence in teaching.

Silke Appel-Cresswell

Dr. Silke Appel-Cresswell is a movement disorder neurologist. She is an Associate Professor for Medicine/Neurology and holds the Marg Meikle Professorship for Research in Parkinson’s disease. Her research focusses on the role of the microbiome in Parkinson’s disease and other brain disorders, care delivery in Parkinson’s as well as coping strategies, resilience and neuropsychiatric features of Parkinson’s.  Dr. Appel-Cresswell is a founding director of the BC Brain Wellness Foundation which fosters wellbeing in chronic brain disease and aging through exercise, arts, nutrition, mind care, and education.

See the list of previously announced Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Achievement Awardees

Read the full Faculty of Medicine announcement