Congratulations to all the UBC faculty members and graduate students who have been recognized with Killam teaching awards in 2022-2023 for their outstanding teaching, research and service to the community.

Killam Teaching Prize

The UBC Killam Teaching Prize is awarded annually to faculty nominated by students, colleagues and alumni in recognition of excellence in teaching. There were 20 recipients for 2022-2023, including Dr. Silke Appel-Cresswell:

Dr. Silke Appel-Cresswell, Medicine, Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Silke Appel-Cresswell is an Associate Professor and Marg Meikle Professor in Parkinson’s disease. Her research focuses on the role of the microbiome in Parkinson’s disease and other brain disorders, care delivery in Parkinson’s as well as coping strategies, resilience and neuropsychiatric features of Parkinson’s. She has established iCAPTURE PD, a large registry for Parkinson’s and related disorders which serves as a resource to understand clinical patterns and clinic-genetic correlations. Dr Appel-Cresswell is a founding director of the BC Brain Wellness Foundation to foster wellbeing in chronic brain disease and aging through exercise, arts, nutrition, mind care, and education. She is also spearheading the use of ultrasound to guide botulinum toxin injections for dystonia in Canada.

Killam Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

The Killam Graduate Teaching Assistant Award is presented each year to 16 graduate students who have made outstanding contributions to teaching and learning at UBC. Among the recipients for 2022-2023 are trainees Connor Bevington (Vesna Sossi’s lab) and Sneha Singh (Ujendra Kumar‘s lab).

Connor Bevington

Connor Bevington is a PhD student in Dr. Vesna Sossi‘s lab. He conducts medical physics research combining physics, computer science, and medicine in PET/MR brain imaging, specifically working on novel image reconstruction and processing followed by biophysical modeling to help better map brain function in neurodegenerative diseases such as Parkinson’s.

Sneha Singh

Sneha Singh is a PhD student in Dr. Ujendra Kumar‘s Lab at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Prior to UBC, she completed a MSc in Pharmaceutical Sciences (major in Pharmacology) from Mumbai University in India. Her current research focuses on studying neurogenesis and anterograde translocation of synaptophysin to neurites in Alzheimer’s disease models.

See the full list of award winners