Member news: May 2018

Keith Cross, Chair PPRI, Dr. Matt Farrer, Bjorn Moller, PPRI Board Member, and Dale Parker, Past Chair, PPRI

Pictured (left to right): Keith Cross, Chair Pacific Parkinson's Research Institute (PPRI), Dr. Matt Farrer, Bjorn Moller, PPRI Board Member, and Dale Parker, Past Chair, PPRI. Dr. Farrer gave the keynote address at the Porridge for Parkinson's event in West Vancouver on May 6. For more information on PPRI, visit, or connect with them on Facebook.


Dr. Janet Werker was awarded a 2018 Killam Prize in Social Sciences, one of Canada's most prestigious awards for career achievement in academia.

Dr. Jehannine Austin, Dr. Deborah Giaschi, and Dr. Claudia Krebs recieved Killam Teaching Prizes. The Killam Teaching Prize is awarded annually to faculty nominated by students, colleagues and alumni in recognition of excellence in teaching. Shunya Yagi (PI: Dr. Liisa Galea) was awarded a Killam Doctoral Scholarship.

Dr. Raymond Lam was recognized as a Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association on May 7.

Dr. Anthony Traboulsee, Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose, and Dr. Erin Michalak were recently celebrated for their promotions to professor at the 2018 Academic Gowns and Emeriti Recognition Ceremony.

Dr. Thalia Field was awarded a 2018 Health Professional-Investigator Award from the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research. 

Dr. Jerome Robert (PI: Dr. Cheryl Wellington) was awarded an early career researcher travel grant from eLife.


Dr. Martin McKeown - Parkinson Society British Columbia - Annual General Meeting 2017 from Parkinson Society BC on Vimeo.

Twitter highlights

Too busy for Twitter this month? Catch up on the conversation via popular hashtags #CAN2018 and #GreatSupervisor, then peek at some of our favourite tweets below.


Did we miss something? Do you have a story tip? We want to hear from you! Send your research highlights, upcoming publications, trainee successes, and funding and awards news to