Member news: October 2017


Dr. Cheryl Wellington, Dr. Vesna Sossi, and Dr. Wolfram Tetzlaff received funding for their projects and research infrastructure from the Canada Foundation for Innovation. 

Dr. Jehannine Austin and Dr. Todd Woodward were named Difference Makers on a list of 150 Leading Canadians for Mental Health by the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. 

Dr. Brett Finlay inducted into the 2018 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

Dr. Brian Christie, Dr. Pieter Cullis, Dr. July Illes, and Dr. Wyeth Wasserman join MSFHR’s Research Leaders Forum as Distinguished Research Leaders.


We're looking for three junior faculty members. Check out our Current Opportunities page for more information on the positions and recruitment timeline.


UBC supports the recommendations made my the Fundamental Science Review. For more information on how you can get involved or for a list of resources, visit Canada's Fundamental Science Review at



Twitter highlights


Did we miss something? Do you have a story tip? We want to hear from you! Send your research highlights, upcoming publications, trainee successes, and funding and awards news to